How to Send “View Once” Photos and Videos on WhatsApp

- ADVERTISEMENT -

Have you ever shared a photo or video with a WhatsApp contact and then wished you could take it back? If you send a snapshot of your credit card or scanned a receipt for an expense report, you should destroy it after viewing it.

WhatsApp has added a new feature to its mobile app that seeks to imitate Snapchat’s features. While WhatsApp’s Disappearing Messages feature lasts for at least seven days, the company has launched a new View Once function for photographs and videos.

- ADVERTISEMENT -

The new feature is now accessible on both iPhone and Android, and if you’re not familiar with it, read on to learn how to use the View Once function to transfer photographs and videos.

Here’s all you need to know about this feature and how to utilize it.

WhatsApp’s New “View Once” Feature is Here!

On the WhatsApp blog, the company announced the launch of the new single view functionality. This function, which was included with the most recent version, lets users transmit photographs and videos that can only be viewed once by each recipient.

Once watched, media sent in single view mode is automatically removed, providing users more control over what they share.

The feature is similar to Messenger’s Vanish Mode and Instagram’s disappearing DMs.

How to Send Photos and Videos that Can Only Be Viewed Once

Because WhatsApp’s view once feature is only available in the most recent version, if you don’t have auto-update switched on, you’ll need to update your app

READ:  Ways to See Pending Posts on Your Facebook Timeline

After you’ve finished updating the app, simply follow the procedures outlined below.

  1. Start a conversation with the individual to whom you wish to send the file.
  2. Select the material you want to send by tapping the Camera icon, exactly as you would when sharing files.
  3. Close to the Send button, tap the Circled 1 icon.
  4. Select the Send option.

 

The procedure is pretty the same while using WhatsApp Web. Just look for the Circled 1 indicator.

WhatsApp’s “View Once” Feature: Everything You Need to Know

The one view mode on WhatsApp is literal: media delivered in this form can only be viewed once. They can’t be shared, forwarded, saved, or starred.

The single view option is available in both direct messaging and group chats. You’ll have to enable it for each piece of media separately.

Only if the recipient has read receipts enabled will you be able to tell if they have viewed your single view media. Finally, single view messages that go unread for 14 days are automatically erased.

View Once media is not the same as typical images and movies sent on WhatsApp. When you transmit a photo or video with the View Once tag, the media appears as a text notation (Photo or Video) with a “one-time” icon underneath it, rather than the standard media preview thumbnail. After tapping the media, a dialog box will popup informing that the photo or video will be deleted when the media viewer is closed.

READ:  How to Change a Facebook Business Page Name

When you return to the chat, the photo or video will automatically disappear and the media will display a “Opened” receipt. As with everything else on WhatsApp, View Once media is encrypted end-to-end and works in both one-to-one and group chats. Recipients will not be able to forward, save, star, or share media marked as View Once, but they will be able to take a screenshot of it, so proceed with caution as with everything you share digitally.

WhatsApp also has a feature called vanishing messages, which means that all text and media in a chat — whether one-to-one or group — will vanish after seven days. View Once mode is an extension of that, with the functionality intended to add another degree of privacy. The function is currently accessible on the finest Android phones and iPhones, so if you’re itching to give it a try, you can do so immediately.

Summary

So, now you know how to send single-view media on WhatsApp. The tool is simple to use, and you can send photographs and videos via DMs or group chats, with the photos and videos being instantly removed once they’ve been viewed.

- ADVERTISEMENT -

After you’ve secured your media, you should make sure your other chats are safe as well. WhatsApp also offers a mechanism that deletes communications seven days after they’ve been sent.

---



If you have a story you want to tell, send it to Cinema9ja Ent. via [email protected]