HomeSportsNew Zealand Claim Historic Victory In FIFA Women's World Cup.

New Zealand Claim Historic Victory In FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Published on

The FIFA women’s world cup witnessed a thrilling opening match between host nation New Zealand and Norway in the group stage. The New Zealand team exhibited remarkable skill, determination and teamwork as they secured a historic 1 nil victory over their opponents Norway. From the blast of the whistle, New Zealand demonstrated their intent to dominate the match.

Their players orchestrated precise passing, relentless pressure and cohesive attacking plays. The team’s coach had meticulously prepared them with a well structured game plan. Norway a prominent force in women’s football put up a commendable fight against New Zealand’s relentless attacks. Their defensive line displayed great strength and resilience, thwarting multiple goal scoring opportunities for the New Zealand.

in the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 Final at BC Place Stadium on July 5, 2015 in Vancouver, Canada.

The first half of the match ended in a stalemate, the ferns quick counter attacking strategy caused occasional trouble for Norway’s defense. However, the strategy paid of in the 48th minute when J. Hand made a dashing run down the left side of Norway’s defense before laying a pass to Wilkinson for the opener. The ferns could have doubled the lead in the 90th minute after they were awarded a penalty but midfielder R. Percival saw her effort blasted wide off the post.

The Norwegian team also caused trouble for New Zealand’s defense. They tried to get back into the game but their efforts were ultimately not enough to overcome New Zealand’s prowess. On the other hand, New Zealand goalkeeper Esson put up an exceptional show repeatedly denying multiple attempts on goal with her acrobatic saves.

New Zealand’s remarkable victory over female football giants ended a 32 wait for the nation’s first victory in a FIFA world cup since 1987. It showcased their immense potential and highlighted their aspiration for tournament success as host nation along side Australia. The ferns will be hoping to continue their fine run of form by qualifying for the round of 16 of the tournament when they square up against debutants Philippines and European opposition Switzerland.

In other fixtures, Co-hosts of the women’s world cup Australia defeated the republic of Ireland 1-0 in the Olympic stadium in Sydney. The goal came in the second half from the penalty spot was converted by Catley. The Matildas will be looking to book a place in the knockout stages of the world cup when they square up against Nigeria.

Other fixtures also saw one of Africa’s representative Nigeria holding Olympic champions Canada to a goalless draw with Debby Abiodun picking up the first red card of the tournament. Goalkeeper Nnadozie denied Canada from taking the lead from the penalty spot with an incredible save.

Switzerland triumphed over world cup debutants Philippines 2 nil with goals from Bachmann and Piubel. European power house Spain scored three goals past their north American opponents Costa Rica in the first half. An own goal from Campo and two additional strikes by Bonmati and Gonzalez Rodriguez ensured that Spain get to a flying start.

The defending champions United States of America opened their world cup with a three nil victory over Vietnam but the margin wasn’t as wide as many expected. Sophia Smith scored 2 goals for the four time champions while Japan pummeled debutants Zambia 5 nil, the most goals scored so far in this year’s women’s world cup.

European champions England extended its streak of unbeaten games when scoring the first goal as they pipped Haiti 1 nil. Amalie Vansgaard netted in the 90th minute to ensure there wasn’t going to be another scoreless draw in the tournament. Other upcoming will see Germany face Morocco, Sweden play against South Africa, Italy battle Argentina. The last games of the first round of group stage will see France, Brazil and Colombia.

The FIFA women’s world cup hosted by New Zealand and Australia will be the first time 32 teams will be participating in the tournament’s history.

The defending champions United States of America have won the tournament four times in 1991,1999,2015,2019. They followed by two time champions and European powerhouse Germany 2003 and 2007. Asian giants Japan and Norway have only won the female world cup once 2011 and 1995. The FIFA Women’s world cup will hold from July 20th to August 20 with 64 fixtures for the first time in the tournament’s history.

Meanwhile, Football governing body FIFA made history with ensuring that female players at the world cup will receive guaranteed pay for the first time. FIFA doled out a total of 110 million dollars in prize money the highest since the inception of the women’s world cup.

This is following numerous calls from female football players for equal pay and compensation as is the case with the male folks. This is a huge step taken to ensure greater gender equity in the game of football the highest of levels. FIFA expects that the monies will be reinvested in women’s soccer programs across the pyramid in their nations.

Latest articles

The Most Expensive Gaming Franchise: A World of Digital Entertainment

The gaming industry has experienced exponential growth over the years, with gaming franchise...

Exploring Africa’s Top Wildlife Conservation Parks: Preserving Nature’s Treasure

Africa is renowned for its breathtaking landscapes and diverse wildlife, making it a dream...

A Visit to Kosovo: Discovering the Hidden Gems of the Balkans

Nestled in the heart of the heart of the Balkans, Kosovo is a land...

The Hottest Football Transfer Deals of the Summer Window: A Game-Changing Shift In Power

The summer transfer window is a time of excitement and anticipation for football fans...

More like this

Sports Betting: A Comprehensive Analysis of the Pros and Cons

Sports betting has become increasingly popular worldwide, with millions of people engaging in this...

Harry Maguire Set to Leave Manchester United For West Ham

In a surprising turn of events, rumors have emerged that Harry Maguire, the Manchester...

Benjamin Mendy Return To Football After Rape Charges

The world of professional football has witnessed numerous stories of players overcoming tremendous odds...